Established in 1978 by Hartley Seay and his sons,  Seay Earthmovers Ltd now run one of the largest fleet of modern caterpillar machinery in the Central North Island.

Early projects took the company from its base in Auckland to many locations around the North Island including; Taumaranui, Te Kuiti, Wairoa, Waipukurau and finally to Taupo where the company has been based for the past 40 years.  Our office is situated at Taupo Scoria Ltd quarry and our vision is to supply high quality roading and drainage aggregates to the local area and beyond.

Some major projects we have been involved in include:

Motuoapa Marina Redevelopment – Civil works (Dept of Internal Affairs)

Higgins Contractors Ltd – Brentwood Subdivision

Genesis Energy Ltd – Rangipo Sluice Gates Stilling Basin Investigation

Te Aho O Maui – Kawerau A8D Block – Well Pad Construction, Old Coach Road Intersection, Earthworks for Power Station 

Higgins Contractors Ltd – Old Radio Station Site Stage One

Minginui / Te Whaiti Dairy Conversion

Wairakei Pastoral Ltd – Wairakei Estate Landclearing Project

Landcorp Farming Ltd – Race Construction

Fonterra – Waste Milk Ponds, Landclearing, Contouring and road alignment.

Eastern Arterial By pass – Fulton Hogan

Wairakei Steam Improvements Project – WK918 – Contact Energy

Contact Energy Drill site Aurora Project

Nga Awa Purua Geothermal Powerstation – MRP (Hawkins Construction)

Taupo A1 GP Race Track – Works Infrastructure

Rotokawa Power Station – MRP (Ormat Pacific Inc)

Wairakei Power Station – Pipeline from Te Mihi to Wairakei

Taupo District Council Landfill – Stages 1 & 2

Waipukurau SH2 – 4.5km of new construction

Hinemaia Hydro Power Stations A & B – Taupo District Council (Wilkins and Davies)

Mokai Glasshouse Development – NZ Gourmet

Parawera Point Subdivision – Symphony Group

Tenon MDF Plant – Fletchers

Watermark Apartments – Hawkins Construction

Ohaaki Power Station – ECNZ

Graham Seay

Managing Director Seay Earthmovers Ltd/Taupo Scoria Ltd

With a Background in civil engineering, Graham has extensive experience in the civil and earthmoving industries and has been actively involved on all of the Company’s projects over its 30 years.

His “Hands on approach” to the business means he has developed a vast knowledge and understanding in all aspects of the construction industry from subdivision works through to hydro electric and geothermal projects.

Graham has daily communications with both his staff and clients to maintain the highest level of service and actively involves himself in the Health & Safety and Environmental issues that are of high importance in the industry today.

Carl Soden / Bevan MacLachlan

Project Managers Carl Soden / Bevan MacLachlan

Contract Manager – Carl Soden

Carl has extensive experience in the earthmoving industry, and he has been with Seay Earthmovers for more than 20 years.


  • Contact Energy – Auroa Project.
  • Contact Energy – WK999 ‘Z’ Line project (BAU).
  • Contact Energy – ‘T’ Line Project.
  • Contact Energy – Te Mihi Holding Pond.
  • Contact Energy – Drill Sites.
  • Mighty River Power – Ngatamariki Power Station works.
  • Miraka – Mokai Milk Processing Factory.
  • Contact Energy – Te Huka Binary Plant.
  • Dept of Internal Affairs – Motuoapa Marina redevelopment
  • GEO40 – Silica Extraction Plant Ohaaki
  • E&D Developments Ltd – St Patricks Residential Subdivision
  • Locheagles Ltd – Lockeagles Residential Subdivision Kinloch
  • Contact Energy – Tauhara Drill Sites
  • Seven Oaks Ltd – Seven Oaks Residential Subdivision


2018 Seay Earthmovers Ltd was the Supreme Winner – Civil Contractors NZ Waikato Branch Construction Awards for the Re-development of Motuoapa Marina.


Project frontline personnel are supported by a team of professional accounting and administration staff with 15+ years of experience in contracts administration and accounting in the construction industry.

Contract Manager – Bevan MacLachlan

Bevan’s experience in the farming and agricultural industry has been instrumental in his project management of Land clearing, Dairy Conversions for Wairakei Pastoral, Fonterra and Landcorp Farming Ltd.  Bevan has been with Seay Earthmovers for more than 10 years.


  • Contact Energy – WK999 ‘Z’ Line Project (BAU).
  • Contact Energy – Te Mihi Holding Pond.
  • Contact Energy – Drill Sites.
  • Mighty River Power – Drill Sites.
  • Contact Energy – Te Huka Binary Plant.
  • NZ Forest Managers – Lake Taupo Forests
  • OTPP – Hancock Forest – Te Waka, Wainui, Opepe, Tauhara, Pureora South, China Forests.
  • PF Olsen – Wairakei Estate – Forest to Farm, Landcorp – Dairy Conversions


Bevan has his Grade B Quarry Managers Certification


2016 – Waikato Regional Council – Awarded Joint overall winners for our proactive approach and communication for Parekarangi Culvert work.

2017 – Waikato Regional Council – Joint overall winner of small site division for installation of erosion and sediment controls in an environmentally sensitive area – Mangahoanga Stream Culvert